Jean Monnet Module “European Union Studies: Polity, Politics and Culture”

Center for Comparative History and Political Studies together with the Department of Political Science (Faculty of History and Political Science) at Perm State University have launched Jean Monnet module “European Union Studies: Polity, Politics and Culture” for BA and MA students of International Relations and Political Science. Both the Department and the Center pursue the strategy of combing research and teaching in the field of comparative politics and aim to prepare young scholars for academic and policy-oriented careers. European and the EU-related studies are rather novel in Perm as a teaching program, and we seek to enhance students’ knowledge about and interest in the EU and Europe in general.

This course is designed for the 4th year (7,8 semesters) International Relations students, BA level,  with continuation at the MA level of studies. The main objective is to create an advanced multidisciplinary course on the European Studies “state of the art”. The innovative character of the module includes approaching International Relations and Political Science students in an interactive learning way to stimulate their own thinking and reflection upon the role of the EU in the world politics and regional arena. The intention is not to restrict course to a mere description of the EU institutions, politics and policymaking process, but foster critical and informed engagement on behalf of our students and faculty members with crucial EU-related debates, namely, institutional foundation and sustainability, socio-cultural, and political dimensions. As three lecturers involved in the project (professor Liubov Fadeeva, CCHPS fellows Andrei Semenov and Irina Shevtsova) have different background and field of expertise, students will have an opportunity to approach the key issues from diverse perspectives regarding politics, polity, and culture in the EU.

The module is supported by the European Commission under Erasmus+ program, Jean Monnet Modules, and will last until 2018.